How to become a licensed childcare provider in michigan

how to become a licensed childcare provider in michigan

Get Licensed as a Child Care Center

Prior to submitting an application, you must contact local zoning authorities to see if operating a child care center is allowed in the proposed area. Contact with Licensing Consultant. Make an appointment with your consultant to discuss the Child Care Organizations Act ( PA ) and the Licensing Rules for Child Care Centers. Q: How do I become a licensed provider? A: If you wish to be licensed as a child care center, group child care home or family child care home, call the Child Care Licensing Bureau (CCLB) toll free at or visit: lovedatme.com Q: As a licensed provider, how do I accept CDC subsidy-eligible children?

This guide covers how to become licensed as a child care childcard in the state of Michigan. It will explain in general the process involved and the requirements that must be fulfilled in order to become licensed or registered as a child care provider.

The Bureau of Community and Health Systems within the Department how to use xbox 360 backup creator Licensing and Regulatory Affairs licenses and regulates three main types of child care in the state of Michigan. There are also specific administrative rules that apply to different types of licensing. A Family Child Care Home registration allows a provider to care or supervise from 1 to 6 minor children in a private home where the licensee permanently resides as a member of the household for less than 24 hours a day unattended by a parent or legal guardian.

The limit on the number of children at a Family Child Care Home does not include children who are related to an adult member of the family by blood, marriage or adoption. Z includes care to an unrelated minor how to stop gums bleeding for more proviser 4 weeks in a calendar year.

A Group Child Care Midhigan license allows a provider to care or supervise from 7 to 12 minor children in a private home how to become a licensed childcare provider in michigan less than 24 hours a day unattended by a parent or legal guardian. The limit on the number of children does not include children who are related to an adult member of how to become a licensed childcare provider in michigan family by blood, marriage or adoption.

A Child Care Providet license allows a provider to care or supervise one or more preschool or school age children for care for periods of less than 24 hours a day, where the parents or guardians are not immediately available to the children.

It includes a facility that provides care for not less than 2 consecutive weeks, regardless of the number of hours of care per day. Chi,dcare how to become a licensed childcare provider in michigan also seek employment as an assistant caregiver in a licensed or registered home or center.

There are numerous opportunities for such employment in every region of the state. It is illegal in the state of Michigan to provide child care what does root a phone mean to children who are unrelated to you by blood, marriage or adoption past the time frames given above, without being licensed or registered by the Child How to make a queen size platform bed Licensing Division.

Initial orientation and ongoing childcate is offered on a regular basis to licensees or registrants by experienced Licensing Consultant who are z to child care providers and centers. These trainings ensure that all child care providers are up to date on any changes in the law and other requirements for the safe and competent care of children.

A criminal background check will be conducted. For Family and Group Child Care Homes, the licensed or registered caregiver must be at 18 years of age, have earned a high school diploma or GED, and reside in the home. A program director for a Child Care Center must be at least 21 years of age and have earned a high school diploma or GED.

See Rule Transcripts are used to verify the semester hours of credit from an accredited college or university. Depending on your specific education, you may have to submit childccare of hours of experience working with children.

Step I -- Read the applicable law and licensing rules prior to submitting an application. Note that you will need to print out forms and provide certain information along with your application, including:. An applicant for a Child Care Center will need to submit a staffing plan, program plan, equipment list, a copy of a written policy for planned food service, a sketch of child use space including indoor and outdoor activity space, admission and withdrawal criteria, discipline policy, schedule of operations, and emergency and evacuation plans.

Box Lansing, Michigan Please make and keep copies of all michitan submitted to the Child Care Licensing Division for future reference. The environmental health inspection, requested and paid for by the Child Care Licensing Division, is done how to become a licensed childcare provider in michigan your local health authority prior to registration. For child care centers, the facility will be inspected for fire safety, environmental health, playground safety, lead hazard safety and other areas as needed.

A licensing study report will be prepared. Step IV — After the review and approval of your application materials, you will be invited to attend a required orientation session arranged by your local licensing office.

The purpose of the orientation is to review the licensing rules and laws and prepare you for the licensing inspection. The orientation will last approximately 6 hours and give you additional information that will help you be successful in the business of caring for children.

Time will be provided for you to ask questions. For Family Child Care Homes, at the end of the orientation session you will be given a Statement of Beckme to take home and review. You will then need to sign the Statement of Registration and certify that you childcarf in compliance with the licensing rules and law.

After you have returned the signed Statement of Registration, you will be issued a Certificate of Registration. Upon receipt of the Certificate of Registration, you may begin caring for children. This registration is in effect for 3 years as long as you continue to comply with the licensing rules and the law, and you reside at the same address. Step V — Within 90 days of being registered or licensed, your licensing consultant will inspect your home to assess your compliance with the licensing rules and law.

An inspection process how to discharge the capacitor in switch mode power supplies occurs for child care centers. Step VI -- For Group Child Care Homes and Child Care Centers, once it has been determined that you are in how long to boil turkey meatballs with the rules and the law, you will be issued a 6-month provisional license.

Prior to the expiration of the 6-month provisional license, you will receive a renewal applicable packet. After you submit a complete renewal application packet, an on-site inspection will occur. If you continue to remain in compliance with the rules and the law, you will be then be issued a regular license that is valid for 2 years. In Child Care Centers, the licensee, the licensee designee and the program director must be fingerprinted. Note that the licensee designee and the program director may be the same person.

The orientation session counts as 6 hours of training. An assistant caregiver must complete 5 clock hours of training each year. For Child Care Centers, 12 clock hours of annual training is required.

In addition, program directors and all provide caregivers are required to have CPR certification at the time of hire and every year thereafter. The training must be received from a person who is certified as a Red Cross instructor or a trainer from another organization approved by the Department.

Center program directors and all lead caregivers are required to have first aid certification at the time of hire and every three years thereafter. Child Care Centers must have at least one person on duty at all times who has current certification in CPR and first aid when providing care to one or more children.

Technical assistance is also offered as needed by the child care licensing consultants to help you comply how to become a licensed childcare provider in michigan the child care licensing rules. In addition to in-person training sessions, certain training is available by video and distance learning, how to write a persuasive letter sample courses, online training and webinars.

For a Child Care Center, you can expect the licensing process to take up to six months to complete after you submit an application packet. Individual circumstances may affect the actual time required. You must have a credit card or a personal checking account to pay the application fee online. Discover or American Express cards are not accepted. If you do not have a credit card or a liceensed checking account, you can complete and return all of the required application materials with the application fee to:.

Box Lansing, MI All of the required application materials must be returned in the same envelope. The costs involved will vary depending on the size of the center, number of staff, capacity of children and repairs needed as a result of inspections.

For a breakdown of specific costs, please click here. It is recommended that you ljcensed zoning approval and a lead risk assessment if the building was built prior to before signing a lease or contract, as required repairs and fees may determine whether the location should be used. Always get good estimates of work and expected costs before now a commitment. Any experience gained as a child care provider may apply in many areas of work involving children, including elementary education, hospitals and medical offices, summer camps, libraries and parks and recreation programs.

Many community colleges and universities offer secondary education programs and degrees in Child Development and Education. If your application for a registration or license is denied, you have the right to appeal the decision and request a hearing that will be conducted before an Administrative Law Judge.

You may renew online. You will be required to submit additional information as part of your renewal application. As a licensee or registrant, you will be responsible for reporting to the Child Care Licensing Division, within 7 working days, any changes in your ,ichigan composition or when any new or existing members of provideer household has certain events occurs. See the rules for more specific information. A list of approved certified playground safety inspectors is available at www.

For additional information, please contact the the Bureau of Becoome and Health Systems at Browsers that can not handle javascript will not be able to access some features of this how to play lisztomania acoustic. Some functions of this site are disabled for browsers blocking jQuery.

Close Search Box. Official Website of Michigan. The three types of child care provider registration or license are: Family Child Care Home : A Family Child Care Home registration allows a provider what counselling is all about care or supervise from 1 to 6 minor children in a private home where the licensee permanently resides as a member of the household for less than 24 hours a day unattended by a parent or legal guardian.

Group Child Care Home : A Group Child Care Home license allows a provider to care or supervise from 7 to 12 minor children in a private home for less than 24 hours a day unattended by a parent or legal guardian. Child Care Centers : A Child Care Center license allows a provider to care or supervise one or more preschool or school age children for care for periods of less than 24 hours a day, where the parents or guardians are not immediately available how does bacteria become immune to antibiotics the children.

In general, the steps that must be followed to become licensed or registered are as follow: Step I -- Read the applicable law and licensing rules prior to submitting an application. Note that you will need to print out forms and provide certain information how to become a licensed childcare provider in michigan with your application, including: Electronic Fingerprint Clearance through L1 Identity Solutions Licensing Record Clearance Medical Clearance Request for the applicant and each assistant caregiver Documentation of Tuberculosis TB test results for all persons in the home who are 14 years of age or older.

Assistant caregivers must also have documentation of TB test results. Proof of inspection and approval of your heating system for Family and Group Child Care Homes including wood-burning stoves and any other permanently installed heating devices and fuel-fired water heater within the past 12 months from certain specified contractors or inspectors.

Documentation that the level of Radon gases does not exceed a specified limit. See www. Box Lansing, Michigan Please make licwnsed keep copies of all documents submitted to the Child Care Licensing Division for future reference.

If you do not have a credit card or a personal checking account, you can complete and return all of the required application materials with the application fee to: Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs Bureau of Community and Health Systems Child Care Licensing Division P.

Box Lansing, MI All of the required application materials must be returned in the same envelope.

Footer menu

This guide covers how to become licensed as a child care provider in the state of Michigan. It will explain in general the process involved and the requirements that must be fulfilled in order to become licensed or registered as a child care provider. REGULATION OF CHILD CARE PROVIDERS IN MICHIGAN. The Bureau of Community and Health Systems within the Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs licenses and regulates three main types of child care . Child Care. Online Training for Updated Rules ? Click HERE for the online training for the new Child Care Home Licensing rules. For child care home providers: If you would like to earn 2 clock hours towards your required professional development hours, click HERE to take an assessment of learning test. You will use the same access code that you use for the MCCM tests. Step I - You must read the Licensing Rules for Family and Group Child Care Homes and the Child Care Organizations Act ( PA ) prior to submitting your online application. Upon receipt of your application, a rule book and the Child Care Organizations Act will be sent to you.

Upon receipt of your application, a rule book and the Child Care Organizations Act will be sent to you. Note: You must have a credit card or a debit card to pay the fee online Discover or American Express Cards are not accepted. If you do not have a credit card or debit card, click here. The fee is based on the capacity of the child care center:. Original Application Fee. Become familiar with the Licensing Rules for Child Care Centers and the following procedures in order to assist you in the licensing process.

A license is issued to a specific person or organization at a specific location, is non-transferable and remains the property of the LARA. Therefore, an application to establish a child care center must be for a specific location.

In the event you have several sites in mind, a licensing consultant may be able to provide you with professional advice. Prior to submitting an application, you must contact local zoning authorities to see if operating a child care center is allowed in the proposed area. In signing the application, you agree to operate the center in compliance with the Act and Rules.

You will want an opportunity to gain a clear understanding of the total process and have time to ask questions. Consultation and technical assistance from LARA are provided without charge to applicants. A list of qualified fire safety inspectors can be found that the Fire Safety Inspection link above. The completed fire safety inspection report must be forwarded to the licensing consultant. If new construction or remodeling will occur, a set of plans must also be submitted to the Bureau of Fire Services for a plan review.

More information on plan reviews can be found at www. A fee may be charged. The completed inspection report will be forwarded to the licensing consultant by the health department completing the inspection. A child care center applicant considering new construction, renovation or structural modification of the kitchen, bathroom, or food preparation or food storage area may also be required to submit a set of plans with the BCALCC. Contact the local health department regarding plan reviews.

If the local health department will not do a plan review, the applicant must provide documentation of this to licensing. This is usually determined by having a playground inspection. See the playground inspection webpage for more information on playground inspections and documentation of playground safety. The lead hazard risk assessment must be completed by a certified lead risk assessor. A list of certified lead risk assessors and more information on lead risk hazard assessments can be found at the lead hazard risk assessment webpage.

Upon receipt of any required inspection reports, your licensing consultant will notify you of the department's preliminary findings. Any work requested in these reports must be completed and your licensing consultant notified of completion. Your licensing consultant may take pictures to document their findings. Through discussion with the licensing consultant, the scheduling of the inspection will be arranged at a mutually satisfactory time.

Prior to the final licensing determination, the following will need to be submitted, by mail or in person, to your licensing consultant for review and approval:. If the proposed center will be providing care for specific age groups of children, or other program components, additional licensing rule areas will need to be discussed, such as:.

Technical assistance is provided by licensing on how providers can comply with the child care licensing rules. When all necessary materials and documents, including fire safety and environmental health inspection reports, have been submitted and reviewed, any necessary corrections have been made, and an on-site inspection has been conducted, a determination will be made with regard to licensure. If the decision is to issue you a license, you will receive notification from the licensing.

The letter will indicate when the center may begin caring for children. This original provisional license is valid for six months. After six months, a renewal inspection will be conducted by your licensing consultant. If the center is in compliance with the rules, a regular license will be issued.

This license must be renewed every two years. If the licensing decision is to deny your application, you have the right to appeal the decision in accordance with the Child Care Organizations Act PA , MCL While your center is licensed, inspections by a licensing consultant will be made annually and if a compliant is received.

As an applicant, you can expect the licensing process to take up to six months to complete after you submit a complete application packet. Individual circumstances may effect the actual time required to issue your license. The amount of time required in issuing the license will depend upon completion of:.

Furnace Inspection may be less if both hot water heater and furnace are inspected during same visit. These costs will vary greatly depending on the size of the center, number of staff, capacity of children, and repairs needed as a result of inspections. This is intended to be a very rough estimate of the possible costs involved in opening and maintaining a child care center. Actual cost incurred may differ. It is recommended that you obtain zoning approval, a fire inspection and a lead risk assessment if the building was built prior to before signing a lease or contract, as required repairs and fees may determine whether the location should be used.

Always get good estimates of work and expected costs before making a commitment. Browsers that can not handle javascript will not be able to access some features of this site. Some functions of this site are disabled for browsers blocking jQuery. Close Search Box. Official Website of Michigan. Internet Explorer is required to complete the online application. Site Selection A license is issued to a specific person or organization at a specific location, is non-transferable and remains the property of the LARA.

Fuel-fired furnaces must be inspected by a licensed mechanical contractor. Fuel-fired water heaters must be inspected by either a licensed mechanical contractor or a licensed plumbing contractor. New furnace and water heater installations must be inspected and approved by the LARA inspectors or local mechanical inspecting authorities at the time of installation. Supporting Documents and Policies Prior to the final licensing determination, the following will need to be submitted, by mail or in person, to your licensing consultant for review and approval: Program Director Qualifications - Transcripts are used to verify the semester hours of credit from an accredited college or university.

See Licensing Rules Submit this information with a cover letter identifying the name and address of the proposed facility. Staffing Plan - A statement containing: Number and ages of children in care each day. Location of rooms to be used. This form is included in the Original Application Packet. The BCAL is used to summarize this information on each staff member but the center must maintain documentation of all of above items at the center.

Staff training plan. Program Plan - A statement containing: Planned daily activities for each age group. A sample daily schedule with a description of activities that meet children's social, emotional, physical and intellectual needs. A plan for rest and outdoor play for centers planning to have children present five or more hours. Equipment List - A detailed listing of age-appropriate equipment on hand or ordered for each age group to be served.

The list is to be divided into the following sub-categories: Large and small muscle groups. Sensory exploration. Social interaction and dramatic play. Discovery and exploration. Early math and science experiences. Language and literacy experiences.

Creative experiences through art, music, and literature. Nutrition and Food Service - If the center is planning for the majority of children to be in attendance for 2. It does not need to be a scale drawing. Indoor Activity Space - The drawing is to include all child use areas, including all dimensions. Label all hallways, bathrooms, kitchen, and storage areas. Outdoor Activity Space - Indicate by drawing the location of the outdoor play space relative to the indoor space.

Denote names of streets, adjacent parks, etc. Specify in writing, the location of this play area. Policies - Includes copies of all of the following policies: Admission and withdrawal criteria. Fee policy - The fee policy is to include when and how payment is due, payment policies for holidays, child illness or absence, or when the center is closed due to inclement weather or other reasons. Discipline policy - The discipline policy is to indicate the child management techniques which will be used in the center as well as those which will be prohibited.

Schedule of Operations - months, days and hours. Emergency and Evacuation Plans - Provide written detailed plans for each of the emergencies outlined in the licensing rules. Sample emergency plans can be found on the Resources page of the licensing website.

If the proposed center will be providing care for specific age groups of children, or other program components, additional licensing rule areas will need to be discussed, such as: Infants and toddlers.

School-age children. Night-time care. Licensing Study Report When all necessary materials and documents, including fire safety and environmental health inspection reports, have been submitted and reviewed, any necessary corrections have been made, and an on-site inspection has been conducted, a determination will be made with regard to licensure.

Time Frame As an applicant, you can expect the licensing process to take up to six months to complete after you submit a complete application packet. The amount of time required in issuing the license will depend upon completion of: Final approval from the appropriate qualified fire inspector and health department. Utilities - Gas, water, electricity, telephone service, trash removal.

4 Replies to “How to become a licensed childcare provider in michigan”

Add a comment

Your email will not be published. Required fields are marked*